Jonas Hassen Khemiri winner of the Gustaf Fröding Scholarship 2020

Jonas Hassen Khemiri, winner of the Gustaf Fröding Scholarship 2020

The winner of the Gustaf Fröding Scholarship 2020 is the writer and playwright Jonas Hassen Khemiri. Jonas made his debut in 2003 with the book An Eye of Red, and has since followed it up with four more novels. He has already received numerous awards and prizes for his writing - including the August Prize, which he won in 2015.

The Gustaf Fröding Scholarship is a literature scholarship awarded every three years by Uppsala Student Union. Since its inception in 1923, the prize has been awarded to a number of Sweden's most prominent writers - with previous recipients including Astrid Lindgren (1990), Hjalmar Söderberg (1941) and Tomas Tranströmer (1978). The scholarship holder is chosen by a vote of the members of the Uppsala Student Union after a jury has selected three candidates.

The award ceremony will take place in conjunction with the announcement and awarding of the Gustaf Fröding Scholarship for 2023.

More posts

Texten SFS Bostadsrapport 2023 bredvid ett gäng tecknade byggnader

Bostadsrapporten 2023

Sveriges förenade studentkårer släppte nyligen sin årliga bostadsrapport som beskriver bostadssituationen för Sveriges studenter. Uppsala studentkår medverkade i att ta fram underlaget till rapporten och sammanfattar dess innehåll med fokus på Uppsala i det här blogginlägget.

Learn more
Left panel, a pack of tampons. Right panel, University House.

Summary: Menswear on campus

On March 8, 2023, Uppsala Student Union submitted a letter to Uppsala University recommending a pilot project with free menstrual protection. This blog post summarizes the letter, the short debate that followed in Upsala Nya Tidning and our plans for the future.

Learn more